NaNoWriMo 2014 – Update #1

~*~*~*~*~WE INTERRUPT YOUR NORMALLY SCHEDULED SOUL VOMIT FOR THIS IMPORTANT UPDATE~*~*~*~*~

HERE WE GO AGAIN!

It’s November and that means National Novel Writing Month. It also means I am one of tens-of-thousands of writers challenging themselves to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Thus I will not be updating with my usual poems, short stories and general soul vomit this month, because almost all my creative time is being devoted to this ginormous goal.

As I am writing this, it is Sunday November 2nd, 2014 and my general overview up to this point is as such:

  1. NaNo for me is somehow so much easier this second time around. True, it is only the second day, but damn, I am somehow busting-out hundreds of words like it’s nothing. All of my research and training the last 12 months is clearly paying off.
  2. Scrivener is amazing and I highly recommend it for organizing and tracking large writing projects.  Go download the free trial. Seriously, do it right now.
  3. I have come to accept that sacrifices that I will need to make if I plan to succeed in this challenge. I am prepared to dedicate my free time and even sacrifice huge chunks of my social life for the next few weeks if that is what it takes to achieve this goal. Goodbye life. Hello words.


So far so good. My total word count is 3,466.

You can check out my progress and NaNoWriMo profile here. Feel free to add me as a buddy!

More updates to come next week.

Leave a comment