Carrying a Teddy Bear…

Carry a teddy bear everywhere everyday to keep the nightmares at bay they say most everyday that I need to find a way to put the fears away and be calm where I lay that sleep is what I need and I’m going to die without it.

You’re driving your mother crazy you’re slowly killing her if you keep waking her up in the middle of the night with your sudden furious night terrors much longer she is going to lose her fucking mind and it will all be your fault that is what it felt like he said and how do you get an anxious terrified sleep deprived child to go the fuck to sleep? you scare them even more and make them responsible for huge heavy adult problems that they didn’t understand.

And don’t worry they will believe you I believed you but anxiety breeds anxiety and all I really wanted was a teddy bear or someone stronger than me to create stillness and show me that there isn’t anything to be afraid of in the dark.

Help me believe really feel like I am not going to die.

For the night is dark and full of terrors and how could I tell the difference between fear that is abstract and fear that is present and pressing?

The reason people are afraid of the dark is because it forces them to be alone with themselves with naught but their own thoughts and their own feels and if there were electric demon eels scurrying in your unconscious you’d be afraid of the dark too because ceasing to exist is anathema to peace and quiet…

 

Leave a comment